Deconstructed lemon meringue pie?! Who are you kidding matey!!!!??

I love Lemon Meringue Pie. Correction, I LOVE LEMON MERINGUE PIE! Think I said that loud enough and you get the picture regarding my favourite pudding/cake in the whole wide world. But what I DO NOT LIKE is a deconstructed lemon meringue pie!

 

I’m sure many of you are scratching your head and wondering what on earth it is. Well let me tell you. It is a ridiculous, no in fact a ludicrous way of presenting the humble LM Pie.

 

Let me take a slight step back first. Because I tend to watch the old waistline I only ever have LM Pie when I’m out for a special lunch. It’s a treat for me, and a really wonderful one at that. The tartness of the lemon and the sweetness of the piled high meringue send my taste buds bolting into my eyeballs and it is all I can do to not drool over the table while waiting for it to arrive.

 

Back to the deconstructed LM Pie then. This past Saturday Hubby and I were out to lunch at a very nice restaurant that we frequent pretty regularly – In fact I think they might actually start phoning us to see if we want a booking, instead of waiting for our call in the future. But be that as it may.

 

With the menu in my hand I spied a LM pie for dessert and was quite excited to see how they could deconstruct it while preserving my dream. To ensure I had space for this giant plate of delight, being lovingly cut and plated for me I was sure, I ordered a smaller main course which I devoured. A brief smile and a nod to the waitron indicated I was ready for pudding, and needless to say I gripped my spoon. Hubby also had a spoon, but that day it was going to be a battle on his part to get a look in, let alone a taste.

 

The lovely ladies at the table adjacent to us saw the pudding first and I heard them somewhat astonishingly ask “Is that the deconstructed LM Pie?”. Then it arrived. For the first time in my life I actually laughed at the food in front of me. I really wish I’d taken a photo, but I was so gob smacked I forgot to do so.

 

Suffice to say, the deconstructed lemon meringue pie I was presented with looked like nothing more than a plate of ingredients laid out for the chef to cook with. On the plate was a line of crumb, next to this was a piped line of lemon filling, and next to this was a swirl of meringue that looked more like a spoonful of soup swooshed onto the plate as a second-thought. I kid you not, the meringue was flat and pathetic. There was not an ounce of normality to the pudding at all.

 

I don’t like to complain, but when our waitron came to ask us how we were enjoying it I didn’t hesitate and said it was awful. She took the feedback to management who gracefully removed the item from our bill.

 

Feeling somewhat blighted by this all, I Googled “deconstructed food” and found it is/was a trend that some idiot thought would be clever, but doesn’t seem to have gone down well. In essence the art of deconstructing a food item is to take the components of a dish and present them in a different way.

 

I can’t think of a polite final thought or final comment, other than to say, “Dear Mr Chef, you can keep your deconstructed lemon meringue pie and shove the lemon filling back up your piping bag nozzle!”

20 thoughts on “Deconstructed lemon meringue pie?! Who are you kidding matey!!!!??

  1. bronnie.l

    oooh nooo!!! I got a cookbook with lemon meringue cupcakes and i feel the same as you about the pie. want that crunchy base and the classics not someone messing around with things

  2. sideview

    some food fashions have been great, they liberated us from stuffy conventions and soggy food, but this one is definitely headed off to oblivion

  3. anotherdayinparadise

    This sounds less than appetising, Ruth. Why try to fix something if it’s nor broken? I hope that chef got the message. xx

Leave a Reply

