Retrenchment – the final decision is in

I missed the cut and I have not been retrenched. I know I should be happy about it, but I was ready to move on and my mind was already on track to start new adventures and opportunities.

 

Saying that I’m not about to resign my position, but have decided to wait out the next round, which I am pretty convinced will arrive in the future. While I’m waiting I think I’ll apply my time to up-skilling myself on a course. The company will pay for it, so why not do it.

 

But the biggest sadness is that 2 of my colleagues, who I’ve worked closely with for 17 years are leaving. We all went into this knowing there was a 50/50 chance of being accepted for the voluntary retrenchment, and while we’d all been gung-ho about it, the reality of it is now setting in.

 

These 2 people are more like family members than colleagues. We’ve seen each other through a life-time of events and shared so many outrageous situations at the office, that their leaving will be painful and emotional.

 

So it’s a new month, a new start, a new feeling. Let’s see how it pans out.

13 thoughts on “Retrenchment – the final decision is in

  1. kat64

    It’s a fantastic idea to upskill. Keep your eyes and ears open, explore all avenues and start looking for another position now, before you have to. You will have more confidence and feel less desparate.I’m sorry for your colleagues.Hugs, Ruth.

  2. JadedJayne

    Sad that after this long an organisation finds itself in a position where it now has to retrench staff. Not easy seeing people who you have a connection with going through this.Hopefully wondrous things await on their horizons :)Chin up chicken

  3. anotherdayinparadise

    Good that you have more time to prepare yourself for the inevitable,Ruth. As Rooikat says, you can still be in touch with your 2 friends, so all is not lost. xx

Leave a Reply

