Ruth’s attempt at Tandy’s venison pie with buttermilk dough topping

Being sunday, and being a good day for a comfort style meal, I decided to have a go at Tandy’s Venison Pie.  I used beef  as I’m not mad on Venison.

Changes I made: I didn’t have juniper berries or dried peaches, or venison, or for that matter fresh thyme.  But I did have dates, beef and mixed herbs.  I also cooked it a little longer than the 25 minutes and put it in one dish as opposed to ramekins, which I also didn’t have!!!!!

Here it is before cooking:

My version of Tandy’s meal – before cooking

Here it is after cooking:

Here it is cooked and ready to serve

Here it is plated ….

Oooops, ate it tooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo quickly, no time for photos.

And did we enjoy it!  Hell yes!

When I make this again, I will double up the meaty bit.  We like lashings of delicious sauce and a mound of meat in our house.  But flavour wise, it was excellent.

 

13 thoughts on “Ruth’s attempt at Tandy’s venison pie with buttermilk dough topping

Leave a Reply

