The Flawless Dog’s Bollocks Restaurant

I was listening to a chat on the radio this morning about Trending where they briefly touched on the latest/emerging “Flawless” trend.  Trendwatching.com defines this as “…companies that are honest about their flaws but show some empathy, generosity, humility, flexibility or humour.”

I can’t somehow believe this means companies will knowingly sell faulty products with a smiley sticker on them.  And to be honest I didn’t get a full idea of how this trend will transpire.  But they did touch on a humourous aspect of “flawless”, namely The Dog’s Bollocks restaurant here in Cape Town.  Now I’ve not been to The Dog’s Bollocks, and I can only report what was said, but it certainly sounds like a place I would be happy to go to.  Actually the name alone made me laugh and hooked me in.

So this is how it works.  The Dog’s Bollocks only serve burgers – which are amazing they say –  washed down with a plastic cup of wine that you help yourself to from the box in the corner.  Clearly it is not the place to go for all, or likely to be considered as wedding venue, but for a quick meal at a quirky place, I think it would work well for many. I mean how could you not enjoy eating at place called The Dog’s Bollocks?  I know I keep mentioning the name, but it’s so funny, I have to.  Here we go again, The Dog’s Bollocks.

But have you ever thought about the origins of a trend?  Does somebody wake up and say “I think we need to ditch the muesli and eat bacon sandwiches for breakfast from now on.  Not only that, the bacon must be crispy and bright yellow, and the sandwich must be wrapped in a blue foil that remains cold on the outside, while retaining the heat of the sandwich.”    And lo and behold two weeks later muesli sales crash, and we’re all wiping bacon fat from our lips.

The question then would be, who is this “somebody”.  Is there a Trend Guru for food, clothing, animals, cars etc?  And does this Trend Guru meet the Trend Colour Guru twice a year to discuss new things over a sticky bun and a cup of tea?  And do they, once agreement is met, send out a global email to the relevant industries who then leap into action?

Admittedly my examples are pretty daft, but do you have any idea on how it starts?  I’m not talking necessarily about clothing and fashion either.  Think about it, how often do you go for dinner or drinks only to find everybody is drinking a Pinot Grigio instead of the once much drunk Chardonnay?

Of course advertising and marketing plays a big part, but still there has to be somebody who starts it rolling.  Who is this person who by simply uttering a single word can spark a light and ignite our need to be trendy and change?   Celebrities certainly do it, which, I’m happy to say not all take off, i.e. Lady Gagga clad in meat.   Can you just imagine buying a pork chop from the butchers and attaching it as shoulder pad?  Or a couple of burgers and a string of sausages to be used as a bra.

Whatever it is, and whoever it is, we can safely say trends are nothing new.  The more phenomenal point for me is the speed in which they take off.

I therefore leave you with one thought…The Dog’s Bollocks

32 thoughts on “The Flawless Dog’s Bollocks Restaurant

  1. Oh Dog’s Bollocks, I don’t know the answer to this one. I think it is someone like The Stig. Best I get my lack of bollocks buttocks down to CT soon and visit the Dog’s Bullocks.

    Now you have everyone doing it! Dog’s Bollocks!

  2. if they make good hamburgers I’d go

    I think we underestimate just how the social media have influenced us in terms of speed of hearing about something new, and apparently from some ‘authority’ we trust in that arena

    1. very true,social media rules so much of our lives now and influences can be global almost immediately. I feel we’re becoming a world of “must-have-immediately regardless of sense and need” bunch of people

  3. It sounds like an interesting and laid back place where one could enjoy a meal without the frills, just get down to business with Dogs Bollocks. No, err…I mean at Dogs Bollocks:-)

  4. With a name like that. the restaurant is bound to do well with South Africans. I would imagine that if they opened a franchise in England, they would soon become popular too, as long as the burgers are good. I wonder if they sell Hot dogs bollocks? 😀

Leave a Reply

