London’s calling

Can’t wait, next week we’ll be heading to the UK. And hold me back, pop me a calmette or two, but London here we come. I could live there, happily. I can’t get enough of it. The hustle and bustle, the tube – OK maybe not peak times when you’d best be thin enough to fit into a couple of millimetres of space – and of course the culture. 

This visit the Victoria and Albert Museum are earmarked as a must-see. They’ve got some great exhibitions on right now, and I’m particularly looking forward to viewing the Wedding Dresses, and the Alexander McQueen ones.  Anybody been to see either of these?  And would you recommend booking?

Hubby is obviously not going to be interested, at all, so a promise of a good lunch will keep him by my side. 

We’re also going to see a show. My dear friend Diane recently saw Billy Elliot and recommends it highly. Flaming heck, have you seen the list of what’s on right now? Oh my word, I think we need to stay a month. I’m thinking tent outside a ticket office, primus and cooler box no further than an arm stretch away.

How on earth do you choose? I’ve done Wicked, Jersey Boys, Phantom and Mamma Mia.  Mathilda holds appeal, as does Made in Dagenham. Did you watch the movie of Dagenham? Brilliant.

Les Mis – OK, I think I’m in the minority here. But that one holds no appeal, not even the promise of front row seats and a slap up meal at the Savoy would get me there. Nor I hasten to add, would Russell Crowe performing, which is quite something when I will watch practically everything he is in. But not Noah, I’m not sure the beard does him justice. No I fear if I went along, even with some great voices belting around my ears, I’d be snoring, or pulling out a flask of  tea and a packet of chocolate digestives.

I’m open to suggestions, but not War Horse. Snot and tears would be rife. Anything animal related is off my list. I won’t even watch Finding Nemo – actually, maybe I shouldn’t have told you that. 

I was searching for a UK related photo to post and came across these gems. A few years back part of our UK trip was to head to Scotland for the Edinburgh Tattoo. I think the photos speak for themselves with regards to the weather.  

My very wet Dad

Image

My very wet Hubby – and rather lonesome looking, although the blue is quite fetching

Image

And a very wet me

Image

 

 

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “London’s calling

  1. Oooh, the wedding dress expo looks awesome, I hope they permit you to take lots of photos!

    I also love London; the tube, the buses, the taxis. I attempted to get myself lost and proved it impossible! The weather puts me off staying permanently though. Brrrr!

    1. I hope they allow photos too. last time I was in the imperial war museum and was happily snapping away when I saw a sign saying no photos. Feeling very guilty I told the lady in charge and phoned security. I thought I was going to be thrown out! But no they were very sweet and asked me not to take anymore

  2. hedgehog118

    Hope you bring some lovely weather with you, Love the pic’s, Scotland is a beautiful place, shame about the rain, although we did get some decent weather

    1. will certainly try to. Yes, wasn’t it so funny how before we ate it was good, and by the time we came out it was pouring. looking forward to seeing you 🙂

  3. Have a great trip. Billy Elliot is awesome. I saw Les Mis on Broadway, and enjoyed it for the first hour and a half, then I got very wriggly. It’s way too long. Good luck with the weather, and the culture. “Fings Ain’t Wot They Used T’be” for sure. 🙂

    1. thank you. If I plan well, maybe we can do 2 shows, but as you know time is precious. Somebody mentioned to me about going to Paris for a day, if only I could work that one in, I’d head to Le Louvre, purely because I’ve never been there before.

Leave a Reply

