The Break-up

Wow, this is a great short story to sit and read as you enjoy your fresh cup of coffee. Having only recently ‘ followed’ Karina, I have to say how very pleased I am to be doing so.

Karina Magdalena

Break-Up LitNet illustration

It was an awkward situation. I was standing there, in front of my best friend’s door, with a cardboard box and an old suitcase in my arms, feeling foolish. I could hear her drying her hair inside. Taking a deep breath, I pressed the bell.

“Coming!” Marlene shouted, switching off the hairdryer.

When she opened the door, the dark hallway of the flat building was flooded with sunshine. It was the beginning of a hot summer day, the humidity in the air promising rain later in the afternoon. Marlene’s damp red curls looked on fire in the bright morning light.

She hovered in the doorframe, staring at the box and the suitcase, twisting one of her curls between a forefinger and a thumb.

“Hi,” I volunteered.

“Hi, come in.” She disentangled her fingers from her hair and swept her hand aside in a gesture of welcome. The flimsy bathrobe she…

View original post 501 more words

One thought on “The Break-up

  1. Khaya Ronkainen

    Thank you Ruth for sharing Karina Magdalena’s story, which led to following her site. Her writing is beautiful and relevant, I will be reading more of her writings.

Leave a Reply

