5 things I’ve re-learnt since arriving back in the UK

  1. It may be Spring, however . . .  that doesn’t mean it is warm, dry or bright
  2. People are very polite – I can’t get used to cars and walkers pausing to let you pass. And make a call and they always end with a “take care of yourself” or “nice talking to you.”
  3. No matter how long ago it was you may have left the UK, there is still a record of you via your NI number
  4. If you have no car insurance you will struggle to get it, and when you do you will pay the premium of a 17 year old – seriously costly
  5. Funniest one yet – always having to remember to take your shoes off when you enter a house, even when you are house hunting – note to self: don’t wear threadbare or even worse socks with holes – not that I do!
14 thoughts on “5 things I’ve re-learnt since arriving back in the UK

  1. I had number 4 happening here in the US when we arrived. Despite driving and having international insurance with good driving bonuses, the bill 20 years ago was 3 times what I pay now. Good luck with house hunting!

  2. None of our relatives are fussy about the shoes. We just wipe our feet well on the mat. I think the weather would be the hardest thing to get used to. Happy house hunting and take care of yourself, Ruth. 😀

  3. I’d almost forgotten you had already left ”our” shores.

    I must admit , I read this post with a mixture of homesickness and ”scared to death”, ( the thought of possibly moving back one day ) remembering that, when I left and finally settled here it felt like all ties would eventually be severed.

    My mother has oft said I wouldn’t recognise the place and I am inclined to believe she is probably right.

    That said, I can only wish you all the very, very best , Ruth.

    1. Hello, well I can let you know it has changed a lot, but the feeling of being here hasn’t. The endless paperwork and learning how “things” work is quite eye-opening, and we find ourselves head down, ploughing through. One thing that does not change as mentioned is the weather. Blooming chilly it is 🙂

      1. I suspected as much.
        *Sigh* Yes, the weather.

        It’s a bright and warm late autumnal morning ( 11:3o) here in Jo’burg.

        Once you have your UK bearings and stocked up on thermal undies and thick socks, I expect to be regaled with Tales From Mud Island.
        And perhaps you could include some
        (‘street’) photos too? That would be fun?

        🙂

        Once again, all the best to you and hubby.

Leave a Reply

