Podcasts, Desert Island Discs and what I’d take with…

I’ve had my iPod for a couple of gazillion years now, and every so often I plug it into my ears and listen to some really dreadful music, which considering I put the tracks there myself is kind of sad.

This little device also has loads of other features which I never use – I mean how many electronic calendars can you operate at any given time?  It would take me longer to update them all with “get up and brush your teeth” than actually  squeezing on the toothpaste.

But one little feature I have hovered over is the Podcast.  Now I’ve always thought Podcasts are brief little ditty’s to occupy the boredom between wrestling with making supper …or not.  And being a little bored this week I went in search of some Free Podcasts to give them  a try.  Well wasn’t I just surprised by the offering.  There are literally thousands you can subscribe to.

I fell on the BBC’s  listing on iTunes and was delighted to discover they were indeed free and updated weekly.   I was also really pleased to find I can subscribe without registering on the site, which is amazing as nearly every webpage you connect to these days wants to know more about you than your own mother.

I’ve tried not to go bonkers with my choice and have subscribed to the following:

  • Graham Norton’s – radio show
  • Desert Island Discs
  • Women’s Power Hour
  • Rhod Gilbert
  • Books and Authors
  • And from Radio 702 and Cape Talk 567  the UK report

At this point I’ve listened to 2 episodes of Graham Norton and had a mighty good chuckle while doing so, plus 3 episodes of Desert Island Discs where the Castaways have been Michael Mcintyre, John Bishop and Dawn French.

So this got me thinking about the few tracks I do enjoy on my iPod, and would therefore select if I was ever asked to participate on the show – when I’m rich and famous and should anybody be interested in listening to me that is.

Remembering you are only allowed to select 8 discs for this show, here would be mine:

Everybody Wants to Rule the World by Tears for Fears – this one I put on repeat a lot.  And mostly it’s blasting away in my car as I head to the office, and then again when I leave on a Friday as a form of psyching me up for my weekly grocery shop

Day Dream Believer by the Monkees – so had a crush on Davy Jones when I was a kid.  Used to watch “The Monkees” show on the TV and dreamt of joining the band as Davy’s girlfriend and have him sing to me all day long

Valerie by Steve Winwood – no story just love it

Truly Madly Deeply by Savage Garden – makes me think of the UK

Lovely Day by Bill Withers – no story just love it

Africa by Toto – I arrived in SA in 1981 and when this song came out in 1982 it just seemed so right to like it

Tainted Love by Soft Cell – this was a massive hit in the UK in 1981.  I carried a 45 vinyl copy in my luggage and finding nobody had ever heard of it in Warmbaths – where I started off, what a story that is – felt strongly that I was living amongst a bunch of retards.  Although I hasten to add I don’t think that any more and would like to send a big HELLLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO to all my Warmbaths followers.  You know who you are….actually are there any of you out there?

Rock your Baby by George Macrae – this so reminds me of my Dad.  Every single time I hear it I picture him boogeying around the living room.  He’s a short bloke and great fun and seems to have a right leg that just wants to twist.  How could you not like a song that does that to your Dad?

Now I’ve shared mine, how about you?  Any castaway songs you’d choose, and also any great podcasts to recommend?

31 thoughts on “Podcasts, Desert Island Discs and what I’d take with…

  1. That Savage Garden song was my absolute favourite for a while after it came out! I think I ruined it for myself by listening to it far too many times … And as for the songs I’d choose … eish, I don’t know, I have too many favourites now!

    Like

  2. Thanks for this, Ruth. I’ve seen Podcast on my iPod, but hadn’t a clue what it was. I love “Tainted Love.” I have a wide selection of music on my iPod too, some of which I hate now. I really should find the time to go through them and chuck out lots of tracks, but it takes time, which I need for blogging. 🙂 One track which always lifts my spirits is “I say yeah yeah” by Georgie Fame and the Blue Flames. (1960’s) A track which can transport me instantly to paradise, is Chris Botti’s “Cinema Paradiso.” Have a great day. xx

    Like

    1. funnily enough I do know that Georgie Fame song.
      I think you might enjoy some of the podcasts when you are travelling. I also attach it with a cable to my car radio so I can listen while I drive.

      Like

  3. Have you heard of The Joy the Baker podcast? It’s really funny, and they talk about some of the most random topics, that are all somehow relevant and organized into some overall topic! It’s hilarious! Or “Uhhhhh, Yeah Dude.” Those guys are also pretty funny. Other than that, I can’t say I know any others, except that I can relate to your useless feeling with your iPod. The feeling is mutual… (: nerdwithtaste.wordpress.com

    Like

  4. Roly

    I go into a trance listening to great male tenors. Botcelli is one of my favs ….I and my computer have both been receiving care and attention and I am pleased to say I can now read and comment again. Long may it last…….

    Like

  5. Brothers in Arms – Dire Straits
    Paradise Road – Joy
    Come away with me – Norah Jones
    Hey Jude – Beatles
    Layla – Eric Clapton
    Hotel California – Eagles
    Sugarman – Rodriguez
    Your song – Elton John

    Like

    1. Oh yes, some goodies there. Layla always makes me smile because it reminds me of a girl at school called, but what else Layla. Anyway, when she broke up with her boyfriend I started seeing him and she didn’t like it all that much!

      Like

  6. Most thought provoking.
    I do have an iPod but in my life it is only a glorified music player. The camera is great but I keep forgetting to use it. I dont use the alarm or calendar as my phone does it for me.
    Here is my list :
    Leonard Cohen – Hallelujah
    Rodger Waters – The Wall (live concert)
    Cat Stevens – Tea for the Tillerman
    Steel Eye Span – All Around my Hat
    Led Zepplin – Stairway to Heaven
    Jethro Tull – Minstrel in the Gallery
    Moody Blues – Nights in White Satin
    Uriah Heep – Lady in Black / Come away Melinda

    Like

  7. Truly Madly Deeply by Savage Garden – I truly madly deeply love that song!!! [Harmony dashes off to download]

    I don’t know anything about iPads, iPods, podcasts, castoffs … so I can’t help you there, but I’ll give some thought to my track-listing should I become a castaway!

    Like

  8. Well, soft cell has been my biggest song in 1982 when I went to high school. But I did not live in Warmbaths 😉 And it’s been my biggest song since 😉
    Can’t imagine taking only 8 disks with me, but I think I might go for classics rather than pop tunes.

    Like

      1. Love that song 😉
        Have you got the 12″ version with Where did our love go?
        It’s on my playlist – Marc Almond is still one of my favourites 😉

        Like

Leave a comment